If you die, I will let you be dead.
I will not try to resurrect your memory
Eulogise your accolades
So they forget you were a person.
Who cannot be summarised by anecdotes,
By stories that make you seem
Happier than you were.
Because you had bad days too
And demons
That got the best of you, it seems.
I will not speak ill of the dead
But I will not deify the dead either.
Because we both know
You chose this.
And there was nothing I could have done
To divert the path you chose.
I tried.
So I will respect you.
And I will always love you.
The way the living love the dead.

When you die, I will let you be dead.

Leave a Reply

